Our Leadership and Professional Team

The dedicated lay leadership and professionals at the Charleston Jewish Federation work together to strengthen and connect the greater Charleston Jewish community. Please contact us with your questions and ideas.

2021 Board of Directors 

Executive Board

President: Ava Kleinman

President-Elect: Ilene Turbow

Vice President: Mike Mills

Vice President: Hilary Rieck 

Vice President: Sharon Hox

Treasurer: Brian Shulman 

Secretary: Elliott Lessen

Jewish Endowment Foundation President: Ed Kronsberg

Immediate Past President: Eileen Chepenik

 

Board Members at Large

David Beckmann

Ellen Hoffman

Marilyn Hoffman*

Kapri Kreps Rhodes

Rachel Landis

Abigail Leibowitz 

Joann Sherman

Shara Star

Ijo Toporek

 

*Emeritus Lifetime Board Member

Charleston Jewish Federation Professionals

Judi Corsaro, Chief Executive Officer

judic@jewishcharleston.org

843-614-6480

 

Rebecca Engel, Assistant Director 

rebeccal@jewishcharleston.org

843-614-6484 

 

Brandon Fish, Community Outreach Coordinator

brandonf@jewishcharleston.org

843-614-6481

 

Erin Boynton, Director of Community Initiatives and Engagement

erinb@jewishcharleston.org

843-614-6491

 

Samantha Krantz, Remember Program Associate

remember@jewishcharleston.org

 

Vicki Schmidt, CPA, Accountant

vickis@jewishcharleston.org

Past Presidents

We are grateful to celebrate our current leaders and past presidents whose dedication and vision has built a vibrant Charleston Jewish community.

Eileen Chepenik

Stuart Tessler

Harry Goldberg

Spencer Lynch 

Jeffery Buncher

David Odle

Richard Friedman

Wendy Marcus Goer

Anita Zucker

Sharon Toporek

Mitchell Fischbein

Jerry Zucker, OBM

Hugo Spitz, OBM

Ellis I. Kahn

Herbert E. Rosner

Nathan Rephan

Charles H. Banov

David L. Cohen

Stanley Wright 

Melvin Solomon, OBM

Leon Steinberg, OBM

Shirley F. Prystowsky

Alwyn Berlin, OBM

Morey Lipton, OBM

Gordan B. Stine, OBM

Bernard P. Mendelson

Burton A. Kaplan, OBM

Harold Sherman, OBM

Jack P. Brickman, OBM

Milton Banov, OBM

Hyman Rephan, OBM

William Ackerman, OBM

Aaron Solomon, OBM

Nathan Goldberg, OBM

Karl Karesh, OBM

Milton W. Kronsberg, OBM

Henry Yaschik, OBM

Bernard Olasov, OBM

Walter H. Solomon, OBM

Edward Kronsberg, OBM

Sam Berlin, OBM