9 2020

BSBI Awards and Installation of Officers

4:30PM - 6:30PM  

BSBI Synagogue 182 Rutledge Ave
Charleston, SC 29403

Contact Mary Campbell

Please Join Us for Our Annual Awards and Installation of 2020 Officers and Board Members as we honor members of our community for their outstanding service.

This year, the Joe Engel Holocaust Remembrance Award will be presented by Eileen Chepenik, honoring Denise Deveaux.

Denise Deveaux has taught for 32 years, the last 25 of which have been at Northwood Academy in Summerville. She teaches Advanced Placement and College Preparatory World History and World Studies and is the Humanities Department Head. Denise has been involved in Holocaust Education since 2001 and credits her inspiration for Holocaust Education to Joe Engel, a Holocaust survivor. She also serves on the Charleston Jewish Federation Remember Committee for Holocaust and Genocide Education.

Presenter: Eileen Chepenik has served on the South Carolina Council on the Holocaust since 2001. She is Immediate Past Chair of the Council and was Secretary for many years. Eileen has interviewed numerous Holocaust survivors and liberators for Steven Spielberg's Visual History of the Shoah Foundation. Eileen also serves on the REMEMBER Committee of the Charleston Jewish Federation and produces the Holocaust education supplement annually for the Post and Courier.

Certificates of Appreciation
Joseph Fox

Charleston Jewish Community Security Task Force
Charleston Jewish Federation
Jimi Horne, Co-Chair

Charleston Police Department
Lieutenant Matthew Wojslawowicz,
Officers Christopher Coughlin and Brad Wilson

Saint Michael’s Church Security Ministry Team
Frank Farmer, J. Kenneth Ross, Jim Sullivan

Pillar of the Minyan
Jacob Lipschutz

Reception to follow.